Learning to Celebrate – A New Resolution

If there’s one skill I need to master, it’s celebrating achievement.

Typically, I’m the kind of guy that will accomplish something, take a breath, and then move on to the next task. For example, if I complete a writing project I’ll smile to myself and think about how to market it.  Or, I’ll mark a successful book event with a quick pat on the back and then look towards the next one.

But slowly I’m learning that celebrating even the seemingly small achievements is important. It really gives you incentive to complete things, beyond the personal joy of the completion itself.

2012 was a big year for me. My short story ‘Clive‘ was published in Nod Magazine and then as a standalone Kindle selection. My second novel, The Orphans of the Creek, was also completed and released after a few years worth of on-and-off-again attention. Also, my profile as a copywriter has grown to include blogging for The Writers and Editors Network, The Sparkle Agency, and several web projects for various Clients. And to top it off, thanks to all of you, my Facebook group has more than doubled in size from this time last year.

And although I might have marked these accomplishments with a small indulgence here and there, I believe all of these events (and yours as well) should have warranted a special dinner or a pub night with friends or some self-indulgent gift.

Writers are typically a brooding, lonely sort. But we don’t always have to be.

So I resolve to celebrate whenever I reach a goal in 2013. And here is my partial goal list:

  1. Release the print copy of The Orphans of the Creek
  2. Release my short story collection Darkness Over Scanlon Creek
  3. Release my novella The Forward Sort
  4. Release my eBook My Adventures as a Self-Publisher

Pretty big stuff and definitely celebration-worthy. Why not celebrate with me? We’ll raise a glass together with each new accomplishment, both mine and yours.

So here’s to getting blitzed a lot in 2013!

See you out there!

If you’re a writer, write. And if you’re a reader, keep reading. We need you!

Author Richard S. Todd
Author Richard S. Todd

Richard Todd is an author, blogger, and Social Media guy. Plus a few other things that get lost in the clutter. Visit him online at www.richard-todd.com.

Author: Richard S. Todd

Pro copywriter. Expressive voice artist. Award-winning public speaker.

Leave a Reply

