Audio vs. Video Podcasts for Authors

This Age of Independence offers the author unlimted innovations to interact with their readers. And among the most innovative is the podcast.

I’m considering using podcasts for the release of my next novel, The Orphans of the Creek. Maybe I could read from the first few chapters in easy-to-digest chunks, leaving cliffhangers so my readers will download the next segment.

I know…it’s been done before. But not by me!

The question would be whether to go with just audio or create a YouTube channel with a reading on video. I’m leaning more towards audio; one can close their eyes and listen rather than stare at my mug as I warble through my work!

But a video podcast could also be presented as a narrative enhanced with still imagery that compliment the material being read. A live reading before an audience captured on video might prove entertaining as well, especially if poetry is your thing.

So I’m interested in your feedback here. If you’re a reader, what kind of podcast would you prefer?

And writers: same question, different perspective.

See you out there!

If you’re a writer, write. And if you’re a reader, keep reading. We need you!

Richard Todd is an author, blogger, and Social Media guy. Plus a few other things that get lost in the clutter. Visit him online at www.richard-todd.com.

Author: Richard S. Todd

Pro copywriter. Expressive voice artist. Award-winning public speaker.

2 thoughts on “Audio vs. Video Podcasts for Authors”

  1. If you’re a good reader/performer of your work, I usually like to see the writer read to an audience.

    My second choice is the reading with images.

    How do you feel about the trend toward book trailers … the short films that promote books in the same way as movie trailers?

    1. I think book trailers, if done properly, can really bring sizzle to an overall marketing campaign. And with all the affordable tools available to the general public these days creating a halfway decent trailer isn’t hard to do.

      Thanks for your comment and question!

Leave a Reply

