Love the Readers, Not the Business

Book publishers, that venerable old institution that has been around almost as long as the printed word, represent an exclusive number of authors that nearly any writer would love to be a part of. I was included in that wanting population as well, doing whatever I could to get my novel Raincloud noticed and picked up.

Well, anyone who knows me or has followed this blog for a while knows the story. I self-published, worked hard to promote my book through Social Media and book events.  I sold a lot of books and could call the entire venture a success.

But I felt the exercise was lacking one thing: the support of a traditional publisher. Only then would it really felt like I had “made it”. And when I had a short story published by one such (albeit small) publisher, I felt I was on my way with my next novel, The Orphans of the Creek.

Yet I still give pause. Why?

I kind of enjoyed being my own boss. Calling the shots to everything from content to the book cover. And I’m on my own schedule to promote my work without someone breathing down my neck asking about 2nd quarter projections.

 Not surprisingly, the biggest detractors to self-publishing are the traditional publishers themselves.The simple reason is that they don’t like the competition. They want readers to buy their books, not those from the self-published author.

In short, to them it’s not about the love of the printed word. It’s about the dollars.

I find readers don’t care whether a book is self-published or not. They just want a good read at a fair price. With self-publishing eBooks sites like Smashwords, uploading, publishing, and selling  your work is a snap. 

So what if I don’t have a relationship with a big-time publishing house at this point? Right now, strengthening the relationship with my readers is the most important thing anyway. And with each technological advance, that’s getting easier and easier to do all the time.

RST

If you’re a writer, write. And if you’re a reader, keep reading. We need you!”

Richard Todd is an author, blogger, and Social Media guy. Plus a few other things that get lost in the clutter. Visit him online at www.richard-todd.com.

Author: Richard S. Todd

Pro copywriter. Expressive voice artist. Award-winning public speaker.

Leave a Reply

