Massaging the Soul

Hi everyone.

I just wanted to remind you all that I’m still around. As the summer closed out I had my head into various projects, which included working through the mire of my new novel The Orphans of The Creek as well as picking up guitar again for the first time in a while.

Most of you probably don’t know that before I became an author I was an aspiring musician. My 1997 album Roadfood didn’t really go anywhere and I hung it up a few years after, opting to go to college and seek more gainful employment.  But I never really got the bug out of my system and have lately returned home (or at least began an extended visit) to my musical roots. It seemed the break did me some good; I’m enjoying it more than ever!

I just passed though my local HMV and checked out the new ‘Beatles: Rock Band’ game. It looks like fun and I love the music but I passed on it. I think that the time people spend on ‘Rock Band’ games would be better served learning an actual instrument. For although ‘Rock Band’ fulfills whatever starry aspirations its fan base has, nothing massages the soul like expressing yourself through playing live.

And that’s because music comes from the soul. Not a computer chip.Me_and_Raincloud

Richard S. Todd is the author of the critically-praised Raincloud: A Novel and holds talks on the self-publishing experience. He spends his time blogging and working on his next novel, The Orphans of the Creek

Visit www.tinyurl.com/voteRaincloud to vote and qualify for your chance at a personalized copy of Raincloud!*

Don’t miss the next installment of “Introducing…”  Get a Free Subscription to this blog by clicking on the Subscribe link on the right.

*The fine print: Odds of winning will depend on how many entries are received. Entrants can enter as often as they wish. The winning name will be drawn by random selection and contacted via the email address they provided when voting. The winner’s name will appear in this space September 30th, 2009 or when their prize is confirmed, whichever is sooner.

Author: Richard S. Todd

Pro copywriter. Expressive voice artist. Award-winning public speaker.

2 thoughts on “Massaging the Soul”

  1. Richard,
    I hope that all is well with you. I’m running a little competition over at my site. It’s for a piece of flash fiction. Any subject up to 300 words. It would be fantastic if you could find time to submit an entry. I hope to hear from you.
    Best wishes,

    CY

Leave a Reply

