Book Reviews – Do They Influence Your Reading Habits?

Artists make the culture. Not the critics.” – David Bowie

I’m quite pleased that my novel Raincloud has garnered some great reviews that not only lend the book credibility but also prop up my ego. I’m proud and pleased each time Raincloud earns positive feedback from readers and critics alike.

But I wonder – do book reviews actually influence what readers buy?

To me, reviews are a great way to create a buzz and get the author’s work into the public forum. If used properly reviews can be a very important part of a book’s promotional campaign. But as a buying guide? I would expect that readers listen more to a friend’s opinion over a presumably better-read literary critic’s.

What about you? Do literary critics influence your reading habits?

Me and Raincloud

Richard S. Todd is the author of the critically-praised Raincloud: A Noveland gives talks on self-publishing. He spends his time blogging and writing his next novel, The Orphans of the Creek. Learn more at his website: www.richard-todd.com.

Coming Soon: Adventures in Self-Publishing Part Ten: The Wrap-Up

Don’t miss another installment. Get a Free Subscription by clicking on the Subscribe widget in the sidebar.

Author: Richard S. Todd

Pro copywriter. Expressive voice artist. Award-winning public speaker.

2 thoughts on “Book Reviews – Do They Influence Your Reading Habits?”

  1. I responded to the poll and said “definitely.” However, it’s not because I think critics know best. I use reviews as a way to find new books and learn what they’re about. Whether the reviewer liked the book or not isn’t the deciding factor for me, but reading the reviewer’s description of the book gives me some perspective.

  2. Thanks for your comment, Lillie. Yes, it’s good to get that second opinion but still rely on your own instincts when buying a book (or doing anything, really). I find word-of-mouth from friends to be even more powerful than any critic’s opinion.

Leave a Reply

