Adventures in Self-Publishing Part Nine: Would I Self-Publish Again?

That’s a good question.

I’m currently writing my next novel, The Orphans of the Creek, and undecided on what to do. Of course, if I were to self-publish again, iUniverse would be the frontrunner for my business. Yet with what I’ve learned about writing, publishing, networking, and marketing through my experience with Raincloud, I would first try another shot with the traditional publishers.

There are only two major things that could keep me from self-publishing again. The first, of course, is the cash outlay. The second is the “judgement by association” people make of your self-published book. I’ve read some self-published work that should never have been put to paper. On the other hand, there are also lots of great self-published books. Unfortunately in some peoples’ minds the good books get lumped in with the sub-standard, creating a prejudice that a talented writer with the brevity to do things himself must work hard to overcome.

Attitudes are changing though, just as the publishing business itself is. Time will tell if the changes are for the better.

In short, my preference would be to go with a traditonal publisher, if for no other reason than to scale that wall. But if I have to self-publish again to get my voice heard, then so be it.

This week’s poll question:

Me and Raincloud

Richard S. Todd is the author of the critically-praised Raincloud: A Novel and gives talks on self-publishing. He spends his time blogging and writing his next novel, The Orphans of the Creek. Learn more at his website: www.richard-todd.com.

Coming Soon: Adventures in Self-Publishing Part Ten: The Wrap-Up

Don’t miss another installment. Get a Free Subscription by clicking on the Subscribe widget in the sidebar.

Author: Richard S. Todd

Pro copywriter. Expressive voice artist. Award-winning public speaker.

2 thoughts on “Adventures in Self-Publishing Part Nine: Would I Self-Publish Again?”

  1. I have been following your blog for a while now. I would like to thank you for providing such a vivid account of the self publishing process.

    By the way, I live in England-how do I get my hands on Raincloud-is it available worldwide on Amazon?

    Cheers,

    CY

Leave a Reply

