A Peek at “The Orphans of the Creek”

Hi everyone.
While I’m completing Part Seven of my “Adventures in Self-Publishing” blog series, I thought I would share with you the first-draft prologue of my upcoming novel The Orphans of the Creek. Let me know what you think!

The Orphans of the Creek: Prologue

Dave’s car headlights cut through the fog as I speed up Highway 400. His car isn’t as fast as mine, never was, but at least it’s still in one piece and can take me somewhere. What can you do when your options are so few?

My eyes dart from the windshield, to the speedometer, to the rear-view mirror. Out front the yellow lines come at me like neon darts and fade away under the Cavalier’s groaning engine. The traffic is lighter than I expected for which I am grateful. By now the cops in Scanlon Creek have probably blocked the entrance into town. They won’t be able handle this sort of mess; they’ll call every emergency vehicle from every town they can find, and they’ll all come screaming like some life-saving valkyries. What a goddamn mess. Those cookie-cutters will never be the same.

I keep the car humming between the limit and about seven kilometres over. Not enough to be caught in any speed traps but enough to keep me alert. After all, this is Dave’s car and I didn’t have time to clean it. God knows what he’s got stashed that a cop would be overjoyed to find. But that wouldn’t be the worst thing. I don’t think I could take the sight of the flashing lights in the rear-view mirror right now. That would just about drive me mad with the needles.

I reach beside me for Juniper’s hand but of course it’s not there.

www.richard.todd.com

Author: Richard S. Todd

Pro copywriter. Expressive voice artist. Award-winning public speaker.

4 thoughts on “A Peek at “The Orphans of the Creek””

  1. Nice work. Creates tension and raises questions-why Dave’s car, where is this journey leading and why did it begin? Also liked yellow lines like Neon darts. Keep posting!

Leave a Reply

