Fire

Do you have to be in a fire to know it burns?

There’s a scene in Raincloud that has caused a little controversy in my life.  It concerns a young man, Skinny Davis, and how he was assaulted by two predators at a cocaine party. Assaulted in a violent, humiliating way that caused him endless physical and spiritual pain. And written in a way so that the reader will choke on the stench of the afterburn. And then lose their lunch.

Friends question me with thinly disguised motives. Members of my family looked at me a little differently, wondering how deep and dark that little spot on my heart really is. And I’m glad. Question me all you want. I wouldn’t be doing my job as a writer if my readers were not so profoundly affected.

Thanks for the credit.

Visit www.richard-todd.com for more.

Author: Richard S. Todd

Pro copywriter. Expressive voice artist. Award-winning public speaker.

Leave a Reply

